Website facelift, “Kiss Me” cover, etc.

November 5, 2011

Most of you have probably noticed that things around here are looking a bit different lately. That’s right, all the clubs (♣) on the site, such as on the Publications page, have been replaced with spades (♠). I feel the new design is slightly more elegant, and maybe a little more dangerous.

Well, it’s Saturday, so I’d like to share some song lyrics with you that I think are a great fit for the weekend. These are from “The City Middle” by The National, off the album Alligator:

I’ve got five hundred in twenties and I’ve got

A ton of great ideas.

I have $63 in mixed bills and no good ideas for what seems like a very long time.

One of the perks of my job is that I get to meet really interesting international students. One of them, I recently found out, is a fairly well-known musician in his native Thailand. Here’s a video of his band, Pianismo, performing a cover of Sixpence None the Richer’s “Kiss Me.” He’s the guitarist on the left. He recruited the singer to join the band after seeing her on Youtube singing for her webcam.

My favorite part is in the second verse, when she sings: “Bring, bring…bring your flower hat. We take da trail mark on your fahder’s map. Oh-o, kiss me…” There’s something about hearing imperfect English sung in such a lovely voice that is utterly charming.

I listened to the original to refresh my memory, and this cover is vastly superior. The singer’s voice is gentler and warmer, and she makes the title’s proposition much more enticing.

The night’s still young. Plenty of time for a great idea or two.

3 Responses to “Website facelift, “Kiss Me” cover, etc.”

  1. jer said

    I love “Alligator.” Actually, I love every album from The National, but that one in particular.

  2. I rarely, if ever, read other blogs. No time really (okay and maybe little interest). But here I sit reading yours and I love it. Thanks ever so kindly for the lovely prose.

    I found you through a “comic” strip about loss.

Leave a Reply

